October 6, 2019

September Wrap Up & October TBR


Did I stick to my September TBR post? Yes and no. September was a strong reading month for me!

# of Books Read from My TBR Post: 3 out of 8 (I'm halfway through one of them and didn't count that.)

Total Books Read in September: 11

Books Read in September

5 Stars
The Bride Test by Helen Hoang
Quiet Girl in a Noisy World by Debbie Tung

4 Stars
Say You Still Love Me by K.A. Tucker
Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin
Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy by Rey Terciero and Bre Indigo
No Judgments by Meg Cabot

3.5 Stars
The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh
The Chain by Adrian McKinty
Say You're Sorry by Karen Rose
Dark Debt by Chloe Neill
Singe by Aly Martinez





How many books did you read in September?


4 comments
September 17, 2019

TTT #98: Favorite Things I Like to Eat/Drink While Reading


This week I am sharing with you all what I enjoy snacking on and drinking while I read. Although I look pretty awkward trying to turn the pages while enjoying my snacks, I make it work.

The Drinks

1. Hot coffee w/ vanilla cream that I make at home in my Keurig.
2. My favorite winter drink is hot chocolate. 
3. Ice cold water is my usual go to drink while reading.
4. Pumpkin Cream Cold Brew is my current obsession.
5. Lemonade is perfect during the summer.
   
Check Out My Bookstagram HERE

The Snacks

6. Homemade air-popped popcorn is where it is at.
7. Pretzels in any form.
8. SweeTarts is my favorite candy snack.
9. Apple slices with caramel is my favorite fall snack.
10. I rarely eat this, but I always enjoy puppy chow/muddy buddies.

Image result for popcorn

2 comments
September 11, 2019

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a bookish meme hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words

It consists on answering these three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What I'm Currently Reading

My current audiobook is Dark Debt by Chloe Neill and my current print book is Serpent & Dove. I am enjoying both of them a great deal. Dark Debt is book 11 in the Chicagoland Vampire novels. That means I am almost done with the series! 

 


What I Recently Finished Reading

My last two read were The Chain and The Beautiful. I enjoyed both, but I didn't love either. I wanted a little more from The Beautiful than what it had to offer. (Full review to come soon.) I gave both books a solid 3.5 stars. I just noticed even both covers have the same color scheme. Crazy.

 


What I Plan to Read Next

Say You Still Love Me is next up from my TBR thanks to some bookstagram friends. As for my next audiobook, I have no idea. Right now I have The Everlasting Rose in audio on hold at the library that I am waiting for.

 

What are you currently reading?




0 comments
September 1, 2019

What I Hope to Read This Month


September is here! I can't wait for fall weather. I love the sweaters, football, and pumpkin everything. Although I don't always stick to them because I am a mood reader, I love making TBR piles! Here are the books I plan to read this month.


Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin
+ Add to Goodreads

"Bound as one to love, honor, or burn."


Unpregnant by Jenni Hendriks & Ted Caplan
+ Add to Goodreads

"She never thought she would want to fail a test - until now."


No Judgments by Meg Cabot
+ Add to Goodreads

"The choices we make decide our fate."


Say You Still Love Me by K.A. Tucker
+ Add to Goodreads

"Life is a mixed bag for Piper Calloway."


Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep
+ Add to Goodreads

"Gladiator meets Game of Thrones."


The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee
+ Add to Goodreads

"By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady's maid, but by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of a newspaper advice column."


Chase Darkness with Me by Billy Jensen
+ Add to Goodreads

"How one true-crime writer started solving murders."

The Miracle and Tragedy of the Dionne Quintuplets by Sarah Miller
+ Add to Goodreads

"Five children who captivated the entire world."



What do you plan to read in September? Do you make monthly TBR goals?


1 comments
August 28, 2019

Mini Book Reviews: Verity, Heroine, & You'd Be Mine


Verity by Colleen Hoover
+ Add to Goodreads


Am I a Colleen Hoover fan? Yes. Is this book like her other books? Nope. Did I love this book? Yes! Verity is for all of us thriller readers out there looking for their next can't-put-down read. If you want a book with a good twist filled with interesting and shady characters, one that has you feeling some strong emotions, one that you just can't put down, then Verity is for you.


Heroine by Mindy McGinnies
+ Add to Goodreads

This book was well-written and heartbreaking. Mickey is an all-star softball catcher, but a horrific car crash leaves screws in her hip, and getting back to top shape by the beginning of the season is all Mickey cares about. To get there she begins to rely on the painkillers prescribed by her doctor that not only take the pain away, but make her feel good. Heroine is a powerful look at the current opioid crisis our country is going through. Trigger Warning: Drug Abuse.


You'd Be Mine by Erin Hahn
+ Add to Goodreads

You'd Be Mine reads like a YA version of the movie A Star is Born. You'd Be Mine has an unforgettable love story, charming characters, and music that makes you feel all the feels. It really felt like I was at the concerts our main characters were performing. Not only did I find the main characters interesting, but their supporting cast of friends were my favorite! Trigger Warning: Drug Use. Suicide. Alcoholism.

8 comments
August 7, 2019

Mini Reviews: Young Adult Edition

The Kingdom by Jess Rothenberg

+ Add to Goodreads

The Kingdom is a science fiction thriller that I pretty much read in one sitting. If you like the show Westworld, then this book will be right up your alley. The Kingdom is a futuristic theme park, and the princesses that live there are Fantasists, androids who are growing beyond their programming. The story is told in alternating chapters between the past and the present through Ana's point of view, the Fantasist on trial for murder of a park employee. Although somewhat predictable at times, this book is well-written, unsettling, and full of interesting takes on the themes of princesses, technology, and more. I can't wait to highlight this book at work so it can find itself in the hands of more readers. (I am a Teen Librarian.)

There's Something About Sweetie by Sandhya Menon

+ Add to Goodreads

Sandya Menon doesn't disappoint with her latest novel. As I was once a teen dealing with weight issues, I was very happy to see a book with a fat main character who was okay with her body, even if her mother wasn't. Sweetie is smart and kind and freaking awesome. Ashish was also a delight to read about as he was recovering from his first major heartbreak. The only reason I am giving this book four stars instead of five is because it was a little too perfect, and I think it could have benefited from some more conflict or have Sweetie have a few flaws. Otherwise, There's Something About Sweetie was a cute book that I think many will enjoy. Readalikes: To Be Honest by Maggie Ann Martin, Dumplin' by Julie Murphy, and If It Makes You Happy by Claire Kann.

Symptoms of a Heartbreak by Sona Charaipotra

+ Add to Goodreads

Symptoms of a Heartbreak is a 2019 version of Dougie Houzer. Saira is a 16 year old doctor dubbed the "girl genius" with a big family and a couple of complex friends. I had a really hard time getting into this novel. It was just too unbelievable for me, and I had a hard time following all the different characters at first which was kind of confusing. However, I liked the diverse characters, and how Saira had to figure out what it means to have an adult job, to be a friend, to have a first love, and some family drama. I do think teens will enjoy this one!

5 comments
Copyright © 2015 It's a Book Life All Rights Reserved · All Logos & Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners | Template by These Paper Hearts
Back to Top