May 30, 2017

Mini Reviews: Queens of Geek, The Valiant, & These Ruthless Deeds


Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde (March 2017)
Goodreads


Queens of Geek was such a fun read! It was beyond adorable, full of laughs, and had relatable characters. Did I mention it is also a diverse book? For all those fellow geeks out there I suggest you read this one. The setting is a comic con people! I love that this story isn't just about love, but also about friendship, fandoms, and life. It's a quick read that would be perfect for your beach bag this summer.



The Valiant by Lesley Livingston (Feb. 2017)
Goodreads


I was disappointed by The Valiant. I can't even decide if I should really give it a full three stars or two and a half. Why was I disappointed? There simply was not enough gladiator fighting (although the scenes that were in it were pretty awesome), it was predictable, the pacing was off, and the romance was unbelievable and happened too fast. I really wanted to love this one, but I just couldn't look past its short comings. I do know a lot of people that did enjoy this book, but it just wasn't working for me.



These Ruthless Deeds (#2) by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas (March 2017)
Goodreads


I think I may have loved this book even more than the first book, These Vicious Masks. The ending left me in shambles and everything before that was wonderfully intriguing. The main characters are interesting and hilarious. The pacing of the plot was perfect, and my favorite part were all of the powers (new and old) everyone had. This book is perfect for fans of Historical Fiction and/or X-Men. It's a quick read offering many laughs and a few twists and turns along the way.


3 comments
May 15, 2017

Recently Added to My TBR Pile

I love seeing the books people add on their shelves on Goodreads and I certainly really love adding books to my own TBR pile. (Perhaps a little too much.) Therefore, I thought maybe that when I add some good stuff I would share it with you guys! Here are some of the recent books I have added to my Goodreads shelf. I include a short summary from Goodreads along with a link in case you what to add these bad boys to your own TBR pile. Anything I can do to help out my fellow book nerds. ;)

Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over by Shani Petroff
Goodreads

A bad storm, two canceled flights, stuck in an airport with a hot stranger and the guy who broke her heart... what could go wrong? After Sari caught her boyfriend Zev cheating on her, their romantic Florida vacation was ruined. She can't get back to NYC soon enough. Unfortunately, mother nature may have different plans. A huge storm is brewing in the Northeast, and flights all over the country are getting canceled—including Sari's. She winds up stuck at the airport for hours. With Zev! When another stranded passenger (a hot NYU guy) suggests a connecting flight to Boston, Sari jumps at the chance. But when her mom freaks out about her traveling alone, she has no choice—she has to include Zev, and somehow survive being trapped with the guy who broke her heart!


This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada
Goodreads

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash though firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius. That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own. When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race. Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?


Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean
Goodreads

Shortly after 17-year-old Maren Hamilton is orphaned and sent to live with grandparents she’s never met in Scotland, she receives an encrypted journal from her dead mother that makes her and everyone around her a target. It confirms that her parents were employed by a secret, international organization that’s now intent on recruiting her. As Maren works to unravel the clues left behind by her mother, a murderous madness sweeps through the local population, terrorizing her small town. Maren must decide if she’ll continue her parents’ fight or stay behind to save her friends. With the help of Gavin, an otherworldly mercenary she’s not supposed to fall in love with, and Graham, a charming aristocrat who is entranced with her, Maren races against the clock and around the country from palatial estates with twisted labyrinths to famous cathedrals with booby-trapped subterranean crypts to stay ahead of the enemy and find a cure. Along the way, she discovers the great truth of love: that laying down your life for another isn’t as hard as watching them sacrifice everything for you.

WILL YOU BE ADDING THEM TO YOUR TBR PILE OR HAVE YOU ALREADY?



12 comments
May 8, 2017

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon: Sign-Up, Goals, & Updates

Well, I just can't say no to a Bout of Books read-a-thon! I just finished my first semester of grad
school and I have a few weeks off until my summer classes start. Woot!
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 8th and runs through Sunday, May 14th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

My Goals

Reading Goals
~ Read at least three books.
~ Write a review within 48 hours of completing a book.

Social Goals
~ Participate in one Twitter chat.
~ Participate in one mini challenge.

Some Reading Options
~ The Valiant by Lesley Livingston
~ Cashmere by Temple West
~ Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett
~ The Stone Heart by Faith Erin Hicks
~ Real Friends by Shannon Hale


Updates

Monday
I read The Valiant and although I liked it, I was a little disappointed.

Tuesday
I didn't read anything today. :(

Wednesday
Nothing today.

Thursday
I started ACOWAR! I made it to pg. 78.

Friday
I am further into ACOWAR!

Saturday
I finished ACOWAR.... SO MANY EMOTIONS!!!

Sunday
I had to work so no reading today.

Total
Two Books = 1,077 pages

Looking Back

I didn't participate in a single challenge or chat, but I did get some reading done! I call that a win.

4 comments
May 5, 2017

ARC Review: Shacking Up by Helena Hunting

Shacking Up by Helena Hunting (May 30, 2017)
Length: 480 pages
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Swerve
Source: I received a free copy from Netgalley. This did not affect my honest review.
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
My Rating:
Goodreads Summary: Ruby Scott is months behind on rent and can’t seem to land a steady job. She has one chance to turn things around with a big audition. But instead of getting her big break, she gets sick as a dog and completely bombs it in the most humiliating fashion. All thanks to a mysterious, gorgeous guy who kissed—and then coughed on—her at a party the night before. Luckily, her best friend might have found the perfect opportunity; a job staying at the lavish penthouse apartment of hotel magnate Bancroft Mills while he’s out of town, taking care of his exotic pets. But when the newly-evicted Ruby arrives to meet her new employer, it turns out Bane is the same guy who got her sick. Seeing his role in Ruby’s dilemma, Bane offers her a permanent job as his live-in pet sitter until she can get back on her feet. Filled with hilariously awkward encounters and enough sexual tension to heat a New York City block, Shacking Up, from NYT and USA Today bestselling author Helena Hunting, is sure to keep you laughing and swooning all night long.

My Review


Shacking Up in Three Words: Funny. Teaser. Enjoyable.

This book was a whole lot of fun to read! Shacking Up was exactly what I needed to read to take a break from all my reading for grad school.

Shacking Up has an interesting plot and some fun characters. Ruby may have had an amazing random kiss the night before, but isn't happy that it made her sick, especially since it is the reason why she bombs her audition the next day. Luckily for her, her best friend knows the guy and they end up hooking her up with the temporary job of taking care of his pets while he is out of town. Ruby is in desperate need of money and will do anything.

Bancroft (what a name!) feels incredibly guilty for getting Ruby sick and doesn't hesitate to offer her a job to watch his pets. Bancroft is described as a sexy ex-rugby player. I liked him. He is a good guy, which is a nice change of pace from some rich guys in other romance novels. Ruby also comes from money, but refuses to accept it and instead follow her dream, she too is a nice girl. Ruby and Bancroft are very likable people, unlike a few other characters that make an appearance.

There is a lot of teasing and flirting between Bancroft and Ruby, and it was adorable. It brought a lot of heat and a few laughs. Their interactions had me fanning myself a few times. If that doesn't make for a good romance novel then I don't know what does.

The Final Verdict: All you romance fans out there will enjoy reading Shacking Up.

3 comments
Copyright © 2015 It's a Book Life All Rights Reserved · All Logos & Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners | Template by These Paper Hearts
Back to Top