January 15, 2018

Tour Review & Giveaway: Deadly Sweet by Lola Dodge


Deadly Sweet (#1) by Lola Dodge (Jan. 16, 2018)
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal
Publisher: Ink Monster LLC
Source: I received a copy of this book as part of a tour for Xpresso Book Tours. Thank you!
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo
My Rating:
Synopsis: For fans of Hex Hall, The Magicians, Practical Magic, and Food Wars! Anise Wise loves three things: baking, potion making, and reading her spellbooks in blissful silence. She might not be the most powerful witch, but enchantment is a rare skill, and her ability to bake with magic is even rarer. Too bad one wants witchcraft on their campus. Anise’s dream of attending pastry school crumbles with rejection letter after rejection letter. Desperate to escape her dead-end future, Anise contacts the long-lost relative she’s not supposed to know about. Great Aunt Agatha owns the only magic bakery in the US, and she suddenly needs a new apprentice. Anise is so excited she books it to New Mexico without thinking to ask what happened to the last girl. The Spellwork Syndicate rules the local witches in Taos, but as “accidents” turn into full-out attacks on Anise’s life, their promises to keep her safe are less and less reassuring. Her cranky bodyguard is doing his best, but it’s hard to fight back when she has no idea who’s the enemy. Or why she became their target. If Anise can’t find and stop whoever wants her dead, she’ll be more toasted than a crème brûlée. Who knew baking cakes could be so life or death?

My Review

Deadly Sweet in Three Words: Magical. Fun. Food.

Deadly Sweet is full of food and magic. My two favorite things.

Anise is a baker and a witch. She can bake feelings into her cakes and cookies. How cool is that? Witches are looked down upon in every day life so she must hide who she is, thus making it harder and harder to live the life she wants. Then one day she discovers that she has an aunt who owns her own magical bakery in a magic town. When she gets accepted as her apprentice things only get crazier.

The author does a nice job with the world building, although a couple of questions go left unanswered I think they will be revealed in later books. My favorite parts of this story were the baking and the magic. I was always hungry for a cupcake or cookie while reading this book. So be prepared. The descriptions were that good. I also really like that the main character isn't some chosen one off to save the world or anything. When Anise meets her aunt she has to go back to learning the basics of cooking to become better. She not only must attend magic baking classes and try to make new friends, but due to a threat on her life, she has to try to stay alive in the process. I loved her interesting friends with different magical abilities.

There were a couple nit picky things that bothered me while reading, but nothing big. I wasn't a big fan of the romance and was hoping for something else entirely. I was also very confused about why her shield bodyguard slept all the time and that was all he did. Boring and weird. Perhaps there is a reason behind it that will be brought up in book two. Although I adored Anise and she felt very realistic, I could use with a little less discussion of her clothing choices every time she did something. These were just tiny personal things that bothered me. Overall, this book was a lot of fun to read!

The Bottom Line: Magic, a crazy cat, and delicious sounding baked goods makes this book worth reading. Give it a try!

The Author

Lola Dodge is a compulsive traveler, baker, and procrastinator. She earned her BA in English from Stonehill College and MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University–and hasn’t stopped moving since. When she’s not on the road, Lola spends her time indoors where the sunlight can’t melt her, writing or bingeing on anime and cherry soda. She can be summoned in a ritual involving curry, Hello Kitty idols, and a solid chocolate pentagram.



Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow The Blog Tour



4 comments:

  1. Thanks for hosting today, Kay! Glad you liked it! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are welcome! It was a fun book and sure did make me hungry! :)

      Delete
  2. Witches, magic, and baking? I'm in. This sounds like a great story.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © 2015 It's a Book Life All Rights Reserved · All Logos & Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners | Template by These Paper Hearts
Back to Top