April 20, 2015

ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses (#1) by Sarah J. Maas (May 5, 2015)
432 pages
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Source: I was lucky enough to get a free ARC at ALA Midwinter. My review is still 100% honest. Thanks Bloomsbury!!
Purchase: Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository | Amazon
My Rating:
Goodreads Summary: A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

MY REVIEW

My Initial Reaction: Are we really doing the whole hungry girl hunting to survive bit? I hope this gets better... (Don't worry friends, it does. It gets so much better.)

I almost died when I got my hands on an ARC of A Court of Thorns and Roses at ALA Midwinter. I have been dying to read this book before I even knew what it was about simply because Maas wrote it and Throne of Glass is my new all time favorite series. I was so nervous when I first started reading ACOTAR. It wasn't grabbing me at first. I wasn't really caring about anything. Luckily it took only about 50 pages in before I finally said "Okay, Here we go." and I was finally hooked. I wanted to know anything and everything about the fearie world and its inhabitants. I warmed up to the book rather quickly.

I had no idea A Court of Thorns and Roses was going to be a Beauty and the Beast retelling, but it just made the story that much more awesome. I guess sometimes it pays off not to pay close attention to the synopsis.

I was instantly drawn to Tamlin and had a strong feeling that he was going to become my new book boyfriend. I wasn't disappointed. Every character was complex. Every character piqued my interest. Every character pulled me deeper and deeper into the story, giving me an escape from the real world. Feyre especially is a strong woman who has flaws, making her human but still completely bad ass. I loved her. More importantly, I freaking love Tamlin and Feyre together. I don't think there is necessarily as many steamy scenes as everyone says there are, but there is some good tension and what not between the two.

ACOTAR was so very good, frustratingly good. It continued to get better and better as the story went on and became more intense with each page that I read. It's pretty dark and does get a little crazy. The story tugged on my heart and made me laugh. I'm not sure there wasn't a single emotion I didn't feel while reading it.

The Bottom Line: I'm ready for round two of this emotional ride. I'm sure Maas will more than deliver with the next book. I can't even say I have a firm grasp on what is coming next, but I don't care. I want to read it. I want to read it now.

7 comments:

  1. I definitely need to try this author! Not sure which series I should start with though in reality it probably won't be super soon, if I'm honest!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes you do missy!!! I can see why it may not be super soon... lol But you still must give this series a try. :)

      Delete
  2. SO SO SO SO jealous. I want this book so incredibly bad i am dying for it. I am so glad you loved it. just makes me want it more and more. I love retellings and fae so this is perfect. argh!!!! gonna die.

    ok so over my rant but seriously glad you loved it. I still have not read this author. My hubby loves her other series, i want to read it but have not had the time or have not fit it in yet. need to. I have it on audio.

    glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you love retellings and fae I am SURE you are going to love this!!! It comes out super soon so you have only a short wait left.

      You also MUST read Throne of Glass. :)

      Delete
  3. yeah no idea what book 2 will be about BUT GIVE IT TO ME NOW, When you meet us in Boston for ALA MW next year (hint hint wink wink) we will have to snag a copy. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This sounds like a great idea! :D

      Delete
  4. YAYYYYY so glad! I think it took me a bit to get adjusted to the story but I really, really loved this book. And YES how does she do that!? All of the characters are so amazingly detailed and the world building and plotting is also FANTASTIC. So glad you loved it!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © 2015 It's a Book Life All Rights Reserved · All Logos & Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners | Template by These Paper Hearts
Back to Top