July 30, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #11: Undead with Benefits, Keep Your Friends Close, & Half Wild

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted byBreaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

The Short Waits

Undead with Benefits by: Jeff Hart
Release Date: Aug. 26, 2014
Goodreads Summary: Jake and Amanda are in love, on the run—and undead. They've teamed up with Cass, who’s ditched her former job as shady government psychic zombie-tracker, and they're headed across the border into Iowa, where there’s rumored to be a zombie cure.
Armed with a trunk full of guinea pigs (aka zombie snacks), they're ready to take on the Midwest’s first undead warlord, the psycho psychic out for their blood, and their own super awkward love triangle. But the virus is spreading faster than you can say "zombie apocalypse," and Jake, Amanda, and Cass have to find the cure—if it even exists—before the whole state of Iowa goes up in flames.
With its heartwarming blend of guts, romance, and spot-on teen humor, this road trip–ready paperback original is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies and AMC’s The Walking Dead. Readers will devour Jeff Hart's fresh, funny, and irreverent take on love and life (well, unlife) in an eat-or-be-eaten world.
Why I'm Waiting: I enjoyed the comedic zombie novel Eat, Brains, Love a great deal, so why wouldn't I read its sequel?



Keep Your Friends Close by: Paula Daly
Release Date: Aug. 19, 2014
Goodreads Summary: From breakout thriller writer Paula Daly, Keep Your Friends Close is a riveting and electrifying story of a husband and wife and the devious best friend who comes between them.

Natty and Sean Wainwright have a rock-solid marriage—with two daughters, a successful business, and a beautiful house, they are a model family. When their younger daughter falls ill on an overseas school trip, Natty rushes to her side. Luckily, Natty’s best friend from college, Eve Dalladay, is visiting and offers to stay with Sean to lend a hand in the Wainwright household. But Natty returns home to find that Eve has taken to family life a little too well: Sean has fallen in love with her. With no choice but to put on a brave face, Natty attempts to start anew—yet no matter how hard she tries to set herself upright, Eve is there to knock her down again. Then Natty receives a mysterious note that says Eve has done this before—more than once—and the consequences were fatal. On a mission to reveal Eve as a vindictive serial mistress, Natty must navigate through a treacherous maze of secrets and lies that threatens her life and the safety of her loved ones.
Why I'm Waiting: There is just something about this book's creep factor that has piqued my interest.

The Long Wait

Half Wild (Half Life Trilogy #2) by: Sally Green
Release Date: March 24, 2015
Goodreads Summary: "You will have a powerful Gift, but it’s how you use it that will show you to be good or bad."
In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, seventeen-year-old Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world's most powerful and violent witch. Nathan is hunted from all sides: nowhere is safe and no one can be trusted. Now, Nathan has come into his own unique magical Gift, and he's on the run--but the Hunters are close behind, and they will stop at nothing until they have captured Nathan and destroyed his father.
Why I'm Waiting: Do you see the cover? Do you? I can't believe they released the cover so early just to drive me insane. I really liked the first book, Half Bad, and I can't wait to get my hands on this pretty.

What are you waiting on?

18 comments:

  1. These look really cool, especially Half Wild. I read Half Bad and it was awesome am really looking forward to the next one. Great Picks :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Half Bad is a great book! I'm glad you enjoyed it as well.

      Delete
  2. I am REALLY looking forward to Half Wild, too!!! I loved Half Bad and can't wait to see where things go after that ending!! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too!! Why do we have to wait sooo long? :(

      Delete
  3. Kay, these are three great sounding picks! Keep Your Friends Close gave me the chills, Eeek. Beware. Undead with Benefits sounds so fun - a perfect Zombie escape. And that cover for Half Wild - love it. How you get them all & enjoy! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think Undead with Benefits is going to be hilarious! The cover of Half Wild blew me away. :)

      Delete
  4. Oh man, I can't do zombies. I don't know what about them is so creepy to me but I get such nightmares! That cover for Half Wild is beautiful, I still haven't read Half Bad but I really need to. Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you read Half Bad soon and enjoy it! I'm not a big fan of zombies, but that series is just too funny. :)

      Delete
  5. These books look really interesting :D Keep Your Friends Close looks very interesting, and I hope to read it soon :) Great list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! Keep Your Friends Close sounds so creepy but good.

      Delete
  6. I love zombie books-I really need to get to Eat, Brains, Love-the sequel sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Eat, Brains, Love is a very fun book! I hope you read it and enjoy it.

      Delete
  7. Awesome pick! I haven't heard of this one yet. I have to go check it out!

    Come check out my blog and maybe even hit the follow button? It'd be greatly appreciated! http://bundles-of-books.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I'll have to head over to your blog to check it out!

      Delete
  8. Great choices! I'm waiting for Half Wild, too, and it's truly painful to wait for March 2015 to get it. The cover is even more stunning than Half Bad's and I was sure they couldn't top that. I hate waiting for almost a year for next installement.

    Henna @ Howling for Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know...doesn't that seem like forever and a day away? How are we going to survive? The cover is amazing!!! :D

      Delete
  9. I still have to read Half Bad, I'm afraid it got buried underneath a whole pile of books. Have to dig it up again :)

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  10. "On a mission to reveal Eve as a vindictive serial mistress, Natty must navigate through a treacherous maze of secrets and lies that threatens her life and the safety of her loved ones." Whoa that sounds good! I hope you like this (since you'll be screening it for me) :)

    Also the cover of Half Wild!!!!!! Gorgeous. Fortunately I still have time to read Half Bad :)

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © 2015 It's a Book Life All Rights Reserved · All Logos & Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners | Template by These Paper Hearts
Back to Top